I received this e-mail from Intuit today:
Dear Account Holder,
With intent to ensure that correct information is being sustained on our systems, and to improve the quality of service we can provide to you; INTUIT INC. has taken part in the Internal Revenue Service [IRS] Name and TIN Matching Program.
It appears that your name and/or TIN, that we have on your account is different from the information on file with the SSA.
In order to check the data on your account, please enter the site.
Yours truly,
INTUIT INC.
Corporate Headquarters
2632 Marine Way
Mountain View, CA 94043
For a brief minute, it seemed real. Fortunately, I have been inundated with similar e-mails lately – from the BBB stating that someone has filed a complaint (I receive this one at least once a week. I called to verify that it was not real), from Fed Ex stating that they have tried to contact me about a package I sent out and then later one that I was to receive (both scams), several from my bank wanting to verify information and the big one – a letter that went out last year to not only me, but several of my clients stating that we needed to do a year-end filing and submit $ to the address to be in compliance.
All these e-mails and letters look so real and it is hard not to react with curiosity and the intent to be in compliance. A few months ago, I did end up clicking on the link to the BBB e-mail – the last time I will ever do that! I ended up with a very bad virus on my computer. So what does one do when you receive an e-mail or a letter asking you to update information, or to click on a link to find out more? Just the fact that they are asking you to click on a link should bring out the red flags. When I receive these, I now perform a Google search to see if anyone else has received something similar and to see if they are legit. Rather than click on the link provided, I go to the website myself and research it to see if it is real, or call the company.
So, the e-mail from Intuit this morning. I have to admit – it got my attention – for a second. After 2 minutes of research, I found out that it is a scam. If you receive one similar to this, just delete it from your computer. When I did that this morning, I received another one – this time in my spam folder. Why the first one did not end up there, I’ll never know. If you feel compelled to take it a step further, send a copy of the e-mail to the organization that it is posing to be from – in this case, spoof@intuit.com. Whatever you do, do not click on the link or forward the e-mail to anyone.
For more information on the e-mail from Intuit and what to do if you receive a similar one, visit their website at: Intuit Online Security Center
Everyone’s Articles – The 919 Business Network – Local Business Networking

